Let Us Eat (Salmon) Cakes

My husband and I have a slight obsession with salmon. I used to be opposed to trying any fish at all because I couldn’t stand the smell (or the eyes staring back at me). But then one day I watched my husband dress a delicious pink salmon fillet with spicy Lahori seasoning (his favorite way to eat salmon) and I had to admit it looked pretty good. So I decided to put the visual memory of the fish with its eyes in the back of my mind and try it out. The verdict- it was delicious.

Ever since that night of my first piece of salmon, I have become quite a salmon junkie. My husband and I look through the supermarket circular each week for deals on fresh salmon (we used to eat frozen but once we bought the fresh salmon from the fish butcher (?) we couldn’t go back.) There really is no comparison to the flaky, tender deliciousness of fresh salmon. Not to mention how good it is for you. Unfortunately, living on the east coast of the U.S. fresh wild caught salmon is not available but the “farmed” Atlantic variety definitely suffices.

So every time there is a sale on salmon, we basically get a lot of it. What do you do with three pounds of salmon, might you ask? Well, I make salmon cakes.

salmon cake 1
Homemade Salmon Cakes

I always thought that crab cakes were the only fish cakes in town but on one occasion I had summer barbecue with my parents and my dad brought home these herby, juicy little pink cakes that he declared as salmon cakes. My husband and I devoured them so fast and after that night, we decided to try to make our  own recipe with the fresh salmon we bought at the market.

After looking around on the internet I found a few recipes that looked tasty and decided to sort of make my own version based on these recipes. I used basic kitchen herbs and spices along with bread crumbs and eggs. These cakes hold up very well in the fridge for a week and don’t dry out. Now that the weather is getting nicer, these are a great addition to a family get together or outdoor party and are much cheaper than buying pre-made versions from a store (if you can even find them).

Tasty Salmon Cakes  (makes about 20 cakes)

  • 1.5 lbs fresh salmon
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1.5 tsp. basil flakes
  • 1.5 tsp. dry oregano
  • 1 tsp. red pepper flakes
  • 2 tsp. no salt seasoning (or Italian seasoning)
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • ½ tsp. ground black pepper
  • 1 cup very finely diced celery
  • 1 tbsp. lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp. capers (with juice)
  • ½ cup plain bread crumbs
  • 2 medium eggs, beaten

Directions:

  1. Bake salmon on a greased baking sheet for 20-25 minutes at 375°F until just cooked through. Flake with a fork into small pieces in a large bowl.

    baking salmon cakes
    Time to eat!
  2. To the baked & flaked salmon add garlic, basil flakes, oregano, red pepper flakes, salt, ground black pepper, and no salt seasoning and mix thoroughly until all spices are incorporated. Next, add the diced celery, lemon juice, bread crumbs, the beaten eggs, and capers and mix well again. If you can’t form it into balls, the mixture is too dry and you can add more egg. If the mixture is too wet, add more breadcrumbs.
  3. Take a large spoonful of salmon mixture and form with your hands into a ball. Press onto greased baking sheet and flatten slightly. Continue this process with the remaining salmon mixture until all is used. This will make about 20 medium salmon cakes. Bake for 15-20 minutes at 375°F until golden and crisp on top. Serve with some yogurt dip and enjoy! Alternatively, you could easily throw these on a grill for 10-15 minutes too if you are cooking outside and then you’ll get some lovely grill marks as well!
2 thoughts on “Let Us Eat (Salmon) Cakes

  1. These look delicious, and a great alternative to crab cakes which are less flavorful, I’m pretty sure – although I never had crab cakes, not something we make in France… This judgement is just based on the fact that I know how super flavorful is fresh salmon! And you’re right, once you’ve tried the fresh fish, it is so hard to go back to the frozen one! Great to have you back on WP btw!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

