Healthy Guiltless Carrot Cake

This is possibly the healthiest carrot cake in the world! My friend over at the awesome Cooking Trips blog developed this recipe, and I, being a huge fan of carrot cake, gave it a go one night after dinner so I could devour it for breakfast the next day. Cooking Trips, much like myself, likes to make delicious treats that are also healthy and virtually “guilt-free”. It is a difficult thing to make things healthy without tasting healthy, and I must say, Cooking Trips has done a fabulous job.

I had never heard of the melted pear tactic until I read her recipe, and I must say, it is pretty cool. I wonder if it can be applied to other fruits as well…Probably bananas or kiwis maybe… soft fruits…Anyway, this recipe has so much healthy stuff in it, so one can even feel free to each more than one slice at a time 😉 Ooh, maybe even make a nut butter sandwich with it? Or French toast? Hmmm…some good food cravings are happening in my head now.

So since Cooking Trips originally posted this recipe on Halloween, I decided to give a little anecdote about my Halloween this year. Now that I’ve been married for a little over a year, my husband and I find ourselves going out to bars and clubs a lot less. By a lot less, I mean, pretty much not at all. It’s sort if funny because the first time we went out together, it was to a bar. I guess we’ve transitioned into the “old married couple” stage. Anyway, our close friends came to visit from out of town and we all decided to go Downtown to some bars and check out the Halloween costumes people were wearing. My friend didn’t want to be the only one to dress up, so to show some solidarity, I threw together what was meant to be a Kim Kardashian costume in about 5 minutes. I had a long black wig, over-the-top gold jewelry, big earrings, a leopard top, heals, bright pink lipstick, and a faux-fur jacket. Realizing that my rear end was not, well, large enough to pull off a Kim Kardashian costume, we tried to find something to pad my pants with. Anyhow, after about 20 minutes of trying everything from T-shirts to Tupperware to stick in the back of the pants, I finally gave up and resigned myself to looking like something in between a prostitute and a Real Housewife of New Jersey. Let’s just say I didn’t win any costume contests this year. I did see a very authentic Jedi Starfighter costume and a guy wearing a T-shirt that had a bow on it and it said “God’s Gift to Women”. Pretty creative way to try to attract women to you.

carrot cake
Freshly Baked Healthy Carrot Cake

So now I present the recipe, adapted from Cooking Trips, to which I’ve made some adjustments in the amounts of the ingredients, according to conversion from metrics and what made sense in terms of consistency after converting the ingredients. Firstly, I only had one pear, so I melted it and used ¼ cup granulated sugar. I was lazy so I melted the pear in the microwave instead of in a saucepan on the stove (see instructions below). I also didn’t have wheat germ handy, which is called for in the original recipe, so I used some quick cook oats, which worked out quite well. I decided to try to push the health factor even further and threw in some flax seeds and raisins.

All in all, this Healthy Carrot Cake tasted delicious and left me without an ounce of guilt. It is not overly sweet, I found it perfect for breakfast. My husband put orange marmalade on it and said they tasted really good together. It is also very moist, not dry like a lot of other carrot cakes. The pear adds a nice moisture to it. If you are looking for a higher sweetness of a typical dessert carrot cake, you can probably add another ¼ to 1/3 cup sugar to it. However, if you love carrot cake but not eating sugary, buttery sweets, try out this carrot cake as is!

Healthy Carrot Cake 

  • 1.5 cups grated carrot

    healthy carrot cake
    Moist and delicious carrot cake.
  • 1 egg
  • 1 pear melted in microwave oven (see instructions)
  • 1 tbsp. vegetable oil
  • ¼ cup plain (0% fat) yogurt
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup milk of choice (I used 1% milk)
  • ¼ cup granulated sugar
  • ½ cup whole wheat flour
  • ¼ cup all-purpose flour
  • ½ cup quick cook oats
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • ½ tsp. baking soda
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • 1 tbsp. cinnamon
  • Dash of nutmeg
  • Additional add-ins: 1 tbsp. flax seeds, ¼ cup raisins

Instructions:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 350°F. Combine all-purpose flour, whole wheat flour, granulated sugar, oats, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a large mixing bowl. Mix thoroughly until well combined.
  2. Use a food processor to grate carrots. You will need about 1.5 cups of grated carrot. Add grated carrots and raisins into mixing bowl and stir to combine with other ingredients.
  3. To melt pear, cut into chunks and remove the stem and seeds. Heat in the microwave in stages. I first heated mine for 40 seconds. Then I removed and stirred it. I heated again for another 1 minute until juice emerged and pear was reduced to almost all liquid. Mush any remaining pear chunks with a fork. Alternatively, you can melt it on the saucepan on the stove, as described in the original recipe.
  4. Next add to the mixing bowl 1 cup milk of choice, 1 tbsp. vegetable or light olive oil, ¼ cup yogurt, 1 egg, vanilla extract, and the melted pear.
  5. Pour the mixed batter into a 9×5 inch loaf pan. Bake in the oven at 350°F for 1 hr. Cake should be firm to the touch and browned on top. Cool and enjoy your healthy treat!

*Recipe adapted from Cooking Trips’ “The Healthiest Carrot Cake Recipe for Halloween ”.

8 thoughts on “Healthy Guiltless Carrot Cake

  1. Hey there! I’m so glad you gave it a go! And I like the way you adapted my recipe with what you had on hand, it’s very smart! About your interrogation in regards to replacing the pears by other fruits, banana will not do the trick (I know that for a fact), however you may have a point thinking of using kiwis!! I think whatever fruit you use, it must be both sweet and juicy to make it work. Moreover, bananas, although full of potassium and other great nutrients, are too high calorie if you wanted to keep this carrot cake healthy and light for eating or snacking at anytime of the day. That’s my opinion on the matter 🙂 Congrats on your successfull trial !!

    Like

    1. Thanks! Ah okay thanks for the tip. Yeah I really love bananas, but you’re right, they are more calorie dense foods. Maybe I’ll try kiwi sometime and report back. I’ll keep thinking about some other juicy fruits too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love carrot cake too–this is definitely a recipe to save! I’ve never heard of the melted pear method, either, but I’ve often used finely grated apple in recipes (and it turns out to basically be like applesauce), with good results.

    Like

  3. Hey B.! Forgot to tell you how much I laugh every time I re-read your fun story about your costume attempt during Halloween evening!! I mean, especially the Tupperware part sounded really fun (and I must admit, quite creative even though it didn’t work out in the end). Anyway, you sound like a fun friend to have around, besides creativity and multiple attemps/trials to get things done seem to be your “thing”. By the way, useful comment from Diana about the grated apples 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. haha, thanks! It was really weird trying to make my backside bigger and ultimately it didn’t work, but we did have fun trying different things. You sound like a fun gal too 🙂 …I think if we cooked together we’d probably have a blast with recipe trials. Usually I just end up with a kitchen mess and lot of extra food and explaining to my husband why he has to eat the same thing over and over again. Yeah, the grated apples are a cool tip, I wonder if the produce a lot of moisture when they cook..cuz that would probably moisten a low fat recipe a lot while maintaining structure.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

