Low-fat Date Cornbread Scones

corn-on-the-cob
Sweet yellow corn is delicious in the summer in NY.

Happy Thursday everyone! I’m a big fan of Thursday because I have the excitement of nearly finishing the work week and looking forward to the weekend, without the drained and tired attitude that I usually have on Fridays.

This week, I have a recipe for low-fat cornbread scones with some dates for added texture and sweetness. I have been on a corn kick lately. I have been craving corn muffins, polenta, and of course fresh corn. During the summer months in New York, delicious sweet yellow corn is abundant and in season. You can find ears of corn for as low as 20 Cents an ear at some places. Usually I buy mine at a local farmstand that has the freshest, sweetest corn that is grown on their farm nearby. Surprisingly, the Walmart Supercenter nearby also has pretty decent corn.

date cornbread scones
Healthy and light date cornbread scones. I love the sunny yellow color!

Since I’ve already had all of the usual forms of corn recently, I decided to try something new and challenge myself. I previously attempted making low-fat scones from a recipe I found online several months ago. However, somewhere in the process, I did something wrong and the result was a sticky mess of dough. I scrambled to shape it into something resembling cookies (scookies?) before popping them into the oven as quickly as possible to escape my embarrassment. I have since been hesitant to attempt making scones again…until now.

I developed the following recipe to be lighter than a typical scone, which usually calls for more than a cup (8 oz) of butter. I decided to use a mixture of margarine and non-fat Greek yogurt in these scones to lighten them up. To make them a little more interesting than a typical cornbread, I added in some soft dried dates. The result was a hardy and sweet, yet light cornbread scone that is perfect for tea time or breakfast with some jam or peanut butter.

Low-fat Date Cornbread Scones

• 1 cup all-purpose flour (plus additional as needed)
• 3/4 cup cornmeal
• ¼ cup sugar
• 1 tbsp. baking powder
• ¼ tsp. salt
• 2-4 tbsp. milk of choice (I used 1% dairy milk)
• 1 egg, beaten
• 3 tbsp. non-fat Greek yogurt
• 4 tbsp. margarine, cold and cut into pieces
• 1/4-1/3 cup finely chopped pitted dates

Directions:

date cornbread scones ready to bake
Flattened out and sliced cornbread scone dough ready for the oven.

1. Preheat oven to 400°F. Mix together 1 cup all-purpose flour, ¾ cup cornmeal, sugar, baking powder, and salt.
2. Add to dry ingredients the cold margarine cut into pieces (this is easier with block margarine but tub margarine works fine too). Mix to form fine crumbs with your hands. Add in 3 tbsp. Greek yogurt and form crumbs again, mixing as thoroughly as possible.
3. Add in beaten egg and mix together. Add chopped date pieces into dough and thoroughly incorporate throughout. Slowly add milk in 1-2 tbsp. at a time until a smooth dough forms. If dough gets too wet, add in additional all-purpose flour until non-sticky dough forms and pulls away from sides of bowl.
4. Place dough on a greased baking sheet. Spread out into a flattened circle and form eight equal-sized wedges and make 8 very light cuts with a knife.
5. Bake scones at 400°F for 15-17 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool before slicing.

Leave a Reply

