Cherry Chocolate Overnight Oats-Breakfast has never been easier!

Hello!

Since this is my first blog post, I decided to tackle the first and what we all are told is the most important meal of the day-BREAKFAST!

Although I’m not one to get up at the crack of dawn, I consider myself a morning person. I’ve never had trouble waking up early and I generally get the most work done before lunch. By nightime, I usually get either lame or cranky (or both). However, even I don’t like the idea of waking up and making a gourmet hot breakfast most mornings. In fact, its pretty dangerous if you think about it-handling hot pots and pans in the morning when you’re half-asleep; sometimes you just want to take the easy route.

For me the solution is Overnight Oats. These have relatively simple and ordinary ingredients, however, they’ve recently gotten a lot of attention all over the internet. I have to admit I thought the idea was pretty unimpressive at first-oats, milk, and yogurt soaked overnight. Right? But then I tried making them myself and I was in love. The endless combinations of toppings and add-ins make these oats a real treat in the morning that never get boring. I constantly am thinking of new flavor combinations to try. The best part is that they are so easy to put together the night before, and when you wake up, breakfast is ready.

So now I’ll shut up and give you the recipe. These are called “Cherry Chocolate Overnight Oats”. They are great for the summer, when cherries are readily available and it feels like you’re eating dessert for breakfast, but without the guilt. Win!

My cheesy re-creation of the oats container.
My cheesy re-creation of the oats  container.

So here we are:

Cherry Chocolate Overnight Oats

Serves 1

• ¼ cup old-fashioned or quick oats
• One 5.3 or 6 oz container of non-fat vanilla yogurt (greek or regular)
• ¼ cup milk (almond, dairy, soy..etc)*
• 4 cherries, pit and stems removed, and split in half
• 1/2 -3/4 tbsp cocoa powder (you can add more depending on how chocolately you want it to taste)
• 1 tsp dried cherries (or more if you can’t get your paws on fresh cherries)
• Optional: chocolate chips for garnish

Puttin’ it Togetha:
Mix milk, oats, and cocoa powder in a jar or stemless wine glass until well blended. Add in yogurt and mix it all together. Add split fresh cherries and blend again until evenly blended. Garnish with dried cherries and chocolate chips and a dash of cinnamon on top. Leave in fridge for at least 3 hours or overnight for best results.

Yummy, yummy oats are ready to eat!
Yummy, yummy oats are ready to eat!

*Note: some recipes call for a lower ratio of yogurt to milk; this recipe produces quite thick, pudding-like oats. Also, greek yogurt will produce thicker overnight oats than regular yogurt. If that’s not your thing, for thinner overnight oats, you can use up to a ½ cup milk. Also, some greek yogurts are thicker than others, so if your mixture feels too thick for you when you first mix it, it will be even thicker in the morning..so heed this warning now.

I hope you like them!


One thought on “Cherry Chocolate Overnight Oats-Breakfast has never been easier!

Leave a Reply

